Living SCIENCE

Gmail accounts that have not been used for 2 years may have the content deleted by Google

Google’s new policy states that if users don’t use Gmail, Drive or Photo apps for 2 years, content in inactive products may be deleted.

In November, Google updated the Google Photos, Gmail and Google Drive product policies (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, Jamboard and Sites) for inactive accounts. or exceed the limit.

In Google’s new policy, each account still has 15Gb of free storage, shared across Gmail, Drive and Photos. However, the company will stop providing high-quality image storage to Photos app users as of June 1, 2021. Instead, photos and videos backed up to Google Photos after this date will be charged to your storage quota.

At the same time, Google also announces that if a user has not used Gmail, Google Drive (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms or Jamboard) or Google Photos for 2 years, your content in inactive product (s) may be deleted.

Not only that, if the storage capacity in the Google account exceeds the storage quota, users will not be able to upload new files or images to Google Drive, cannot back up photos and videos to Google Photos, the ability to send and Email receipt in Gmail may also be affected.

Google also announced that if the user’s storage has exceeded the quota for 2 years or more and has not released or purchased more storage to return below the quota, all content may be deleted by the user. content from Gmail, Drive and Photos. However, before deleting, Google will give at least 3 months notice and provide an opportunity for users to purchase additional storage for the account so that data is not deleted.

Google’s new move is said to let users manage data better and delete unnecessary data on their accounts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *